Welcome to the Official Website of Rosebud County

Rosebud County was established on February 1, 1901 and is located in Southeastern Montana covering approximately 5,027 square miles. The county Courthouse was built in Forsyth in 1912.

Rosebud County is Montana’s twenty-second most populous county, with an estimated population of 9,233 as of the 2010 census.

Other cities and towns in Rosebud County include Angela, Ashland, Birney, Colstrip, Hathaway, Ingomar,
Lame Deer, Rosebud, and Sumatra. A large portion of the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation lies within Rosebud County.

Current Issues / Events:

Montana Road Conditions (link) please go to the link for up-to-date road conditions around Montana.








Retirement Party for Geraldine Custer,
Rosebud County Clerk & Recorder for
36 years and Pamela Shelton, Rosebud County Treasurer for 25 years






Geraldine Custer




Pamela Shelton











Justice of the Peace Lee Busch
Sheriff Randy Allies
Treasurer Kathy Fahrenbruck
County Attorney Kristine Byron-White
County Commissioner Robert E. Lee
Clerk of Court Elizabeth Ball-Mavity
Honorable Judge Huss








Joby Parker Superintendent of Schools &
Joan K. Duffield Clerk & Recorder
Swearing in.


Facebook We are now on Facebook.